Ghibli Museum LUNCH

GHIBLI MUSEUM CAFE

1 Chome-1-83 Shimorenjaku, Mitaka, Tokyo

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!Now this place I will hold dear to my heart and deserves a solo post.
The films made by Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli have been enlightening me for years and so much sentiment has been invested. This place was very emotional for me and I was absolutely honoured to share the memory with my Husband.
We visited the super cute bakery style cafe to have a late lunch and to rest our feet from exploring the museum. There are so many areas that are like the Yubaba’s Bath House, Baron Humbert von Gikkengen’s town house, gardens of Laputa, Kikki’s home town or could it be Sophie’s?

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!We didn’t mind queuing for a place, although it didn’t seem like queuing because they provide seats under a marquee and you get to read the cute menus before going in. When you do go in, the place is so delightful! The afternoon light fills the room and you can see the trees through the glass ceiling.

 

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!I ordered the Grilled chicken with veggies on multi grained rice with homemade soy sauce Y1,200 ($12.23 AU). At first it looked like a mess but then you closer and all that chaos has an actual structure! The cherry tomatoes are strategically place on the outside whilst the chicken, beans, carrots, sprouts, sesame seeds are scattered in a crisscross pattern with a boiled egg as its crowning glory. Speaking of patterns and glories, there was a tiny feint Totoro painted on the edge of my plate.

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!

 

Olleh got the Breaded pork cutlet sandwich for the Hungry stomach Y1,100 ($12.21 AU) which actually looked good! The little Jiji toothpicks are so cute. You can even buy them in the cafe.

 

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!Strawberry shortcake Y800 ($8.15 AU)The strawberry shortcake was a masterpiece and seemed too good to eat. I gazed on it for too long but when I took a bite, the cake was so light, the strawberries were sweet and the cream’s creamy goodness washed over me. It was luscious. I loved every minute of eating that strawberry shortcake that I looked up towards that glass ceiling and said “Aaaahhhhh!”

 

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!Then the Luxurious cheesecake with the Walnut crust came Y680 ($6.93 AU) in its baked velvetiness. I wondered why there were no dollops of cream of powdered sugar sprinkled on top? There didn’t have to be because it stood out on its own and was far from being ‘grainy’ like a lot of baked cheesecakes can be. The slight bitterness of walnut cut through the richness very nicely.

Ruby Red rhubarb squash soda that came with a real hay straw Y600 ($6.11 AU) and Homemade ginger ale Y600 ($6.11 AU). There was ale available but decided not to because this place was too nice. By that I mean, it felt naughty and that I was in a holy place like church.

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!GM strawberry short cake

 

Will I come here again? You bet your sweet peach cheeks, I’ll be back! I hope to come back to Japan in the next 2 years or so. I think from years of sharing the delight in those films with others is so much better. I want to play in the Nekobasu (Catbus) but only children are allowed – boo! I’d also like to thank Mika for getting us the tickets.

 

 

Leave a Reply

