The Woodhouse Dinner

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!I do like my Harcourt cider ($9.50 for 500ml) for having a fantastic crisp and slightly sweet taste as well as being made locally. My Beloved and I came to join our great friends to celebrate Emmy’s birthday. We were greeted by the lovely staff as soon as we entered this softly lit classy venue that had that dark wood/ brick decor kinda vibe that reminded me of some underground tavern. The fire place was really kick arse and I wished we were sitting there but not to worry, our party was set up in one of the many rooms (the one nearest the outdoor area). That section was roomy yet so cosy, loud and VERY toasty (probably due to the rain pelting down like crazy) that I had to tie my hair up but that could of been due to my excitement in seeing my friends and downing that cider.

 

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!The menu had wood fire oven pizzas, steaks and other mains. I chose the Wagyu Beef Salad $28.90 and shared some thick, triple cooked hand cut chips $8 (more like wedges to me) with this super awesome smoky BBQ sauce, rosemary, roasted garlic and aioli. I adored my ‘salad’ though the title is rendered useless because of the generous amount of wood grilled Shar Wagyu F1 tender rump #7  that was in it. There was an even balance of creamy Danish feta cubes, fresh spinach leaves, mustard cress, pickled beetroot, dehydrated tomato slices, fried onions that was nicely splooshed with a mild sesame dressing. Seeing food that is stacked high is begging to be pushed over and so I did and attacked it with gusto. What I wasn’t expecting to see that there was more food and the presentation was some weird optical illusion!  ALL of this was Gluten Free….fucken yisssss!

I was actually surprised because I was stuffed from eating a salad! I had some bone marrow (thanks Simon) and some Morton Bay/Prawn pizza which wasn’t gluten free (thanks Olleh) passed my way which added to my meal.  I was in such great company that I didn’t even bother seeing how long until our meals arrived. The Woodhouse staff are happy to answer any questions about menus, were attentive and topped up our drinks without being intrusive.  I’m looking forward to returning when I’m back in Bendigo again. I’m gunning for whatever’s on that steak menu!

Address: 101 Williamson St, Bendigo VIC 3550

Phone:(03) 5443 8671

Lunch: 12pm – 2:30pm Wed Thu Fri

Dinner: 5:30pm till late Mon – Sat

Closed Sundays

http://www.thewoodhouse.com.au/

Visited on 31st May, 2014

The Woodhouse on Urbanspoon

One thought on “The Woodhouse Dinner

Leave a Reply

