Rice Workshop DINNER

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!Super fast, delicious and cheap food!

17th March, 2014 : I walked by this place during my lunch break and decided then and there,  to meet Olleh here for dinner later.

I really like this place for its great location and that the portions are BIGGER than I expected. Who knew that fast food can be so delicious and close to a home cooked style meal? This used to be a cute easy going light filled Japanese cafe but now it’s a fast, dark badass establishment with slick modern decor.

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!

The prices are roughly cost around $6.70 – 10.40

Here’s what you do:

  1. Line up and order your food at the counter.
  2. Wait until they hand your food to you on a tray. The placemat is an origami crane.
  3. Slide your tray along. You can maybe add other side kicks (side dishes) like tempura prawns, edamame, seaweed salad, miso soup etc.
  4. Pay for your food and add your condiments. I like the spicy mayo and pickled ginger.

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!

It was a little confusing at first but once you get the hang of it, it’s easy peasy Japanesey! (Yes, I went there  with that one.)

Don’t sit down and wait to be served because it defeats the purpose of this fast food system.  There’s plenty of room upstairs but sitting at the bench in the front window made me reminisce of what this place used to be so many years ago.

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!I had the No. 18 Ontoma Salmon $8.90 (Zuke style marinated mince raw salmon, topped with nori and a soft boiled egg on a bed of rice). They are served in these cardboard tubs that come in regular and large size. I was struggling to finish my regular sized meal so I’m glad I didn’t get the large. I think the large size was waaaaaaaay to much for me and probably good if you want to share with someone.

They have beef, chicken, curry, udon noodle, salmon, salad, katsu (chicken or pork), karaage and grilled tofu rice bowls on the menu. I can’t get over how cheap everything is! Rice is not just the filler here. There is a substantial amount of topping that goes into these bowls which is great value for money.

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!I loved it so much that I went again the next day and got the No. 1 Stewed beef rice bowl $6.70  (thinly sliced beef simmered with onions and soya broth on a bed a rice). I also got Takoyaki $3.90 (4 octopus balls with real octopus) and a creamy crab crumbed croquette $1.90, which makes this not a good contender for a gluten free food adventure.

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!This place is great if you don’t want to wait for ages to get your food. I’m planning to go back next time with my little boy in tow. We wanna share a large beef rice bowl and get some crunchy creamy croquettes.

Rice Workshop

238 Little Bourke StreetUgly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!

Melbourne (Chinatown)

Mon to Sun – 11am to 9pm

03 9650 6663

Ugly water mark is due to some foolish person NOT asking permission to use my pics on their website. That resulted in a poor quality resolution photo. You can get a high quality one by asking nicely!!!

Leave a Reply

