Andre’s Coffee House arvo SNACK

  • Establishment: Andre’s Coffee House
  • Address: 421 Sydney Road, Coburg (North Coburg Tram 19, get off at Munro Street and walk up or the stop just after. It’s near the Coburg Market entrance)
  • Hours: Mon to Fri 8am – 5pm
  • Sat 8am – 4pm
  • Sun 10am – 4pm
  • Contact: 042149 1437
  • https://www.facebook.com/pages/Andres-Coffee-House/120898941320351
  • Visit date: 26th March, 2012

This place could be my new local whenever I’m at this end of Coburg. It’s got great coffee and a gluten free menu!!! The establishment is one of the two shops that are the gateway stores to the Coburg Market. Ellis International Deli is the shop to its right. I can’t really describe how it is in the inside because it’s a very mixed bag. It’s a little dark but not gloomy at and having bread and framed photographs out on display gives it nice homely feel.

I sit at the window watching the Coburg locals go about on their adventures whilst I sit back on a high stool whilst being mesmerised by the bench which I am about to be eating on. This dark beautiful piece of rugged timber that is thickly varnished reminds me of a huge slab of toffee.

My freshly ground Flat white $3 arrives first and man, that sure packed a good caffeine hit! I so needed that after waiting for eternity in the dentist waiting rooms that had instant coffee (Ugh…no thanks!)   3 out of 5

 

 

The Borek was piping hot and comes at $6 a slice. I’ve never had one of these before and it was crispy, flakey filo pastry on the outside and rich, creamy and intense filling of ricotta, fetta and spinach on the inside. I don’t think it was gluten free pastry but they have other Gluten free items on the menu.

Bonus points for a bluesy Tom Waits warbling in the background which was just perfect for that afternoon setup and especially when the song “Shiver me Timbers” came to play.

 

Chance of return: High – I would VERY much like to come back here for breakfast.

2 thoughts on “Andre’s Coffee House arvo SNACK

Leave a Reply

