Cafe Doppio Tasting Plate LUNCH

  • Establishment: Cafe Doppio Tasting Plate LUNCH
  • Address: Level 5, 260 Collins St (The Atrium/Australia on Collins), Melbourne CBD
  • Hours: Mon to Thu 7:30am – 6pm
  • Fri 7:30am – 7pm
  • Sat 9am – 5pm
  • Closed on Sundays
  • Contact: 03 9650 9086
  • http://cafedoppio.wordpress.com/
  • Visit date: 16th March, 2012

Sometimes being indecisive on what I want for lunch is a good thing when they serve the Tasting Plate $9.30 at Cafe Doppio. They have samples of rocket leaves, roast pumpkin, roasted capsicums, fetta, basil pesto with chunky pine nuts, marinated artichoke hearts, salty prosciutto and apple slices to finish off the dish.

I can pick at to my hearts’ content and that they were happy to exchange my slice of delicious crusty bread for gluten free bread. (I should of let them know beforehand.) I really didn’t want to exchange it because I miss having bread and the one they have here looks like the awesome light but chewy kind with that crusty outer layer that I love and miss so much. The lovely man who was serving me gave me one of those jokingly stern looks when I asked for it but he toasted it and gave me extra butter.

Typically the gluten free bread slices are small so spreading on those Western Star butter individual serves looks like I’m icing a cake (Ok, I put on 2 serves on a playing card sized bread slice so it looked over the top.) This is when my companions Elaine and Rach, stopped their conversation and looked at me in horror (or was it entertainment?) as I casually shoved this monstrosity into my gob. The silence was making my cheeks turn red but then I recall saying with pride: “I am not ashamed that I love butter and a little decadence doesn’t hurt on occasions! I would eat a slab of butter sprinkled with paprika!!!!”

My Illy Flat white $3.60 was ok. 2 out of 5

Bonus points for the great service especially from the lovely guy with the beard. Dining here is great because of being in the Atrium and peering down at a chasm of escalators and the shopping levels of Australia on Collins. When you don’t feel so full afterwards, you can go on and try on ball gowns which I have done on occasions at that store next door that sells formal dresses.

Chance of returning: Medium
Cafe Doppio on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

