Tin Pot cafe COFFEE

  • Establishment: TinPot Cafe, Fitzroy North COFFEE
  • Address: 248 St Georges Rd, Fitzroy North (Tram 112, get off at Holden St stop near Piedemonte’s IGA Supermarket)
  • Hours: Mon to Fri 7:30am – 9:30pm, Sat to Sun 8am to 4pm
  • Contact: (03) 9481 5312
  • Visit date: 2nd Feb, 2012

 
 
 
 

It was a very early Thursday morning and this was the only place open for coffee. I really like the bohemian leanings towards kitsch interior design in here. They have a replica of that Crying boy painting that still gives me the willies to this day. The hardwood floor makes such a lovely sound as you walk upon it. Straight away, I was greeted by a sunny lady with a tumbler shaped bun on top of her head who apologised that the coffee will take a little while because the machine was just starting up but she gave me some water and asked if I wanted something to eat. It actually wasn’t that long….7 minutes is fine. I’ve been in places where I had to wait more than that and their machine WERE working!

 
 
Anyhoo, my flat white $3.50 had a strong, slightly tangy and I swear with a hint of orange and creamy but fluffy milk froth. I knew they were perfecting the taste because they were making so many cups of coffee before mine came around. The old Italiano gentleman knew what he was doing and in the mirror reflection I could see him shaking his head until he got the magic coffee combo right. The nod and the almost giggly grin gave it away.

3 out of 5

 
 

Chance of returning: High. Whenever I am around this area and especially now that I know it opens early and closes late-ish.

Tin Pot Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

