Sensory Lab COFFEE

  • Establishment: Sensory Lab
  • Address: 297 Little Collins St. (It’s at the back of David Jones little Collins street exit)
  • Hours: Mon, Tues & Wed 7:30am to 7pm
  • Thur to Fri 7:30am to 9pm
  • Sat 8am to 7pm
  • Sun 8:30am to 7pm
  • Contact: +61 3 9645 0065 http://www.sensorylab.com.au/Home.htm
  • Visit date: 23rd Sept, afternoon

My only honest miff (to which I am NOT trying to bag anyone so correct me if I’m wrong) about visiting Sensory Lab was getting the cold shoulder service at the beginning by some pixie haircut hipster Hoo ha (I’ve never been treated like that before here!). The reason why I come back to establishments are not purely for the product but for the way I am treated. I’ve waited on tables before and my pet peeve was when customers would snap/click/whistle at me so I know what it’s like to be on the service end. And by the way, I never would do that to anyone because I like to wave/nod/smile to get their attention. It seemed like the word ‘hospitable’ wasn’t in this Hoo ha’s repertoire.

BUT it was forgivable when another and more pleasant, recognisable and knowledgeable staff member (Hello…nice inkage you have there!)  happily chatted to us about how the syphon process works, bean origins and the best way to enjoy and nail this!

I had Hario syphoned Kenya Ngandu Rutuma $5. It was kinda like they brewed it like a delicate cup of tea. But the difference was that the cooler it got, the sweeter it became! No milk or sugar involved though that brown powdery sugar found in pretty little serving bowls were very enticing.  The coffee flavour and buzz was still there yet it tasted like it had peaches and pineapples but not that sort of fruit punchy-ness. I felt like a lazy scientist who doesn’t use proper cooking equipment and only using my beakers, Bunsen burners and tweezers to concoct my arvo caffeine hit.

If you have a sore tummy and/or not feeling that well, have one of these syphon coffees because they are more gentler but still have the same flavour as regular espresso types.

5 out of 5

Chance of returning: Medium- High, due to the sheer convenience of its locality.
Sensory Lab on Urbanspoon

10 thoughts on “Sensory Lab COFFEE

  1. Only a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding layout. “Justice is always violent to the party offending, for every man is innocent in his own eyes.” by Daniel Defoe.

  2. I’ll right away snatch your rss feed as I can not to find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please permit me recognize so that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  3. I love your current weblog Sensory Lab COFFEE CHOMP and SLURP. Many thanks with regard to this unique impressive write-up! I most certainly will bookmark your blog site and also check out again here regularly.

  4. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  5. Wonderful site. A lot of helpful info here. I’m sending it to several pals ans additionally sharing in delicious. And of course, thanks in your sweat!

Leave a Reply

