Plantation COFFEE

  • Establishment: Plantation
  • Address: Shop 253, Melbourne Central, 300 La Trobe St,  (Go up the escalator and then you’ll see the food court on the left and Plantation on the right)
  • Hours: Mon-Wed 8am to 6pm,   Thu 8am to 8pm,   Fri 8am to 9pm,   Sat & Sun 10am to 6pm
  •  Contact: (03) 9999 9999 – Wow…that’s lotsa 9’s!!!
  • http://www.plantationcoffee.com.au/home.htm
  • Visit date: 16th Sept, 11am

Despite the many interruptions whilst getting served, I got a lot of information on “Urghhhh…what’s this about?”

I really liked the fact that girl who was serving me was happy to chat about coffee beans, what sort, where they are from but more importantly how the process of cold drip coffee.

She said it took about 7-8 hours for it to process and since its cold drip, it doesn’t come with that normal ‘tang’ you get when you brew coffee with heat. It was such a detailed process that it was a little overwhelming but she convinced me just to have a go instead of letting her waffle on. I thought I had to wait hours for them to brew it but they already had some chilling in the fridge. They came in these cool cute little brown bottles. I cracked one opened and just sipped and OMG!

Wow….that really packed quite a flavour punch! Though, at first it was mild, it still had layers and layers of 1st fruity, 2nd caramel and 3rd bitter after taste but such a nice mellowed out after taste. Maybe it was having it chilled that made a difference and sipping it from a bottle certainly allowed you to distinguish between the different flavourings.

$5 a bottle, this is a treat…not something to have every day unless you can afford to. It’s a different way to have coffee and I think I’m beginning to really like it!

5 out of 5

The area is very modern, slick and too cool for school for the masses kinda vibe. You can either sit at the big long tables, or little tables or park your arse in front of Cupcake Central and watch them ice those damn cupcakes. If you sit near the windows, you are bathed in glorious sunlight and can look at how busy busy La Trobe street can be down below. It’s a very shared communal dining area and you can chill out for a while without the feeling of being “Shoo-ed” away. I gotta see if they have free wi-fi.

Return visit: Low- only when I want to treat myself to a ‘cold brew’.
Plantation on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Plantation COFFEE

  1. Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your site is so cool. I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this blog. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched everywhere and simply could not come across. What a perfect web site.

  2. Im impressed, I ought to say. Quite hardly ever do I come across a blog thats both informative and entertaining, and let me let you know, youve hit the nail on the head. Your weblog is significant; the concern is one thing that not adequate persons are talking intelligently about. Im actually happy that I stumbled across this in my search for some thing relating to this concern.

Leave a Reply

