Dumplings & meatball Yum Cha LUNCH

I just popped in quickly for a little lunch before launching myself into the Preston Markets. This place was recommended to me by Jenny & Jon about 10 years ago and I thought I’d never be up at this end of Melbourne…but I guess things DO change.

I bounce up the stairs and was welcomed by this efficient ‘No-Nonsense’ cashier lady (which could easily be confused for rudeness) who then passed me off to one of the hosts who set me up on my lonesome. There are some pangs of dining alone but I entertained myself with polite nanny burps and my fantasy that I am a tired old yakuza boss (like Takeshi Kitano in Outrage) who’s having a quiet one.

It’s very classy up on the ceiling with deep red painted walls and old Asian prints but then as you look down it turns into chintzy revolving chandeliers territory which leads to the butchers’ paper for table cloths and fellow diners in their fine Preston outfits. The contrast just entertains me and I compared to a bizarre heaven and earth ho ho ho!

Anyhoo, the cart came around and I got the Prawn and Veg dumpling $5.90 very luxurious tasting morsels with see through skin. Then I went onto the Beef dumpling meatballs $4.90 which was surprisingly springy and oh so juicy! Whilst sipping cups of Jasmine tea $1.20 (for a tea pot), I began to notice that the service here is excellent! They are not over bearing or do that annoying hovering thing. I like watching the eagle eye host GLIDE (I swear he must be wearing roller skates or something) over if any of the patrons that needed assistance.

Places like this are EXTREMELY DANGEROUS for me because I will eat just about anything. Today, I just stuck to steamed goodies and will work on the fried crispy ones next time…..there WILL be a next time!

  • Establishment: Gold Leaf Yum cha Preston
  • Address: 1/F Shop 7, 417-419 High Street, Preston 3072 Tram 86 David St/Plenty Rd or South Morang Train, get off Preston Station and walk across the Preston Market carpark
  • Hours: Sun, Sat 11am-3pm, 5:30-10:30pmMon-Fri 11:30am-3pm, 5:30-10:30pm
  • Contact: (03) 9470 2882
  • http://www.goldleafrestaurant.com.au/
  • Visit date: 29th Aug, 2012

Gold Leaf on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Dumplings & meatball Yum Cha LUNCH

  1. Pingback: yum cha at Gold Leaf, High St Preston | LocalHero

Leave a Reply

