Roll’d Rice Paper Rolls LUNCH

  • Establishment: Roll’d
  • Address:  181 William Street, Shop TG10, Goldsbrough Lane Melbourne CBD (Can enter through Little Bourke st, Bourke St or William Street. It’s pretty much on the corner and if you look up you can see these golden lettering of Goldsbrough Lane hovering high above. Any tram along Bouke or William street)
  • Hours: Monday to Friday 11am – 3pm
  • Contact: (03)9600 1088    http://www.rolld.com.au/
  • Date visited: 16th Aug, 2012

$11 for 4 rice paper rolls (Lemongrass pork & prawn $2.80, Soft shell crab & avocado $3, Tofu, pickled carrots & sesame seeds $2.60, BBQ chicken & sesame seeds $2.60)

To be honest, my heart sunk when I saw the queues. Other blogs that I read have mentioned that the queue was swift but knowing my luck,  I thought I was going to be on the end of a slow day. I highly doubted it BUT it moved incredibly FAST! So fast, that I even had to jump OUT of the queue twice whilst waiting for Olleh. I should actually time how long I’m in line for next time.

The crowd here is mostly office folk or ‘office turds’ affectionately phrased by the loony gentleman from the tram.

I order 4 types of rice paper rolls or ‘Soldiers’ that range from $2.60 – $3 and at such cheap price…why wouldn’t I? These MoFo’s are HUGE! They are pre-prepared and already they were calling out my name. A friendly face handed me my rolls that came in a cute brown cardboard box with a see through plastic viewing window and 4 individual serves of nuoc mam dipping sauce that came in itty bitty plastic pots with flip lids!

I only used 2 pots because I didn’t want my ‘Soldiers’ to drown in the stuff. It was so delicious that I almost forgot to take pictures. Well made, chockers full of vibrant coloured vegetables (well really I had no time dissect what I was eating because it was so damn good), pork meat was a little dry but it was smothered in sauce. Even the tofu was decent. Usually Rice paper rolls have fuck all meat and vegetables and are of mostly noodles but this had a good balance of the three.

I looked longingly at Olleh Bánh mì….If only they had a gluten free version of this. Dang….I’m coming back again to try their Pho!

The only drawback is that my fingers smelt of fish dipping sauce. Lol

A big ‘Thankyou’ to Áine for recommending this place.
Roll'd on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “Roll’d Rice Paper Rolls LUNCH

    • Thanks for your kind words Erika. I do appologise if profanities get in the way and though that shouldn’t be a deterrent, I believe on being honest and admit it’s very much part of my venacular :)

Leave a Reply

