Union Square Fish and Chips DINNER

  • Establishment: Union Square Fish and Chips
  • Address: Shop 14/ 190 Union Street, Brunswick West (Tram 55 towards Coburg, get off at the Coles/ Union Square shopping stop that runs along Grantham St)
  • Hours: Mon – Wed 10am to 8pm.  Thurs 10am to 8:30pm.  Fri 10am to 9pm.  Sat 10am to 8pm. Sun CLOSED
  • Contact: (03) 9388 0888
  • Visit date: 28th March, 2012

I’ve been waiting to review this place for a while but I never get around to taking any photos because for this food staple: I just INHALE it!!!! It is one of those ‘butterface’ types of food that will never look glamorous or healthy but boy-oh-boy, it tastes so devilishly GOOD! Memories from childhood rush back to me from times spending it in Uncle Bill’s fish and chip shop. That’s probably why I hold this type of food so very close to my heart (and will probably clog it too!)

The Fisherman’s basket $13 (50c + if you want it grilled) consists of a scoop of almost perfectly fried, golden crisp on the outside and fluffy in the middle thick chips, 1 plump flake fillet that is evenly battered and nicely fried, 2 large battered scallops, 2 thickly cut battered calamari rings and 2 large juicy battered prawns that are cooked to perfection that you can even eat their tails. Mind you, I just peel off that delicious crispy and light batter and give it to my Melly who gratefully gobbles it down. They supply 2 huge wedges of lemon which looks like it’s from their own lemon tree.

They make one of the BEST fish and chips in the Brunswick area that I’ve ever had. It doesn’t have that old, stale and burnt flavour that some places sometimes get and waiting ain’t too long. Plus you can kill time by wandering around in Coles or the bottle shop. They always let you know how long it will take and are so nice to you. I remember one time that I rang to order only to find out that it was just closing time but they still took my order and waited for me to pick it up. Usually, people would say no because the shop is shut but we’ve been regulars for years. They are the fish and chips I would go out in the rain for.

Bonus points for the 3 day old newspapers and people watching. It’s a pretty busy place with heaps of people coming and going.
Union Square Fish & Chips on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Union Square Fish and Chips DINNER

Leave a Reply

